Gotcha!

June 20, 2017

Well, I got caught!  I have a bad habit of starting a writing project, but not sticking with it.  I let life get in the way and it is not because I don’t like to write.  My choice of letting writing fall off to the side is one that needs to change and I have the perfect way to hold myself accountable.

My students!  This year I have shared my blog with two of my students.  They have asked about it, read it, and made comments as well.  We were our own writing community.  Then, end of the reading assessments, as well as school coming to an end which all lead to no more writing.  I have thought about it, but that’s as far as I have reached.

During the summer, I have a reading, writing, and math camp at school with a few teachers.  I do not want the students I work with to slip during the summer and one of the students who whom I shared my blog is in the camp.  He is in sixth grade and willingly attends even though the other students are younger.

Well, today I had my time with this young man and as I open my laptop, he states, “Oh, I know what’s going to happen.  You are going to write about this.”

“No, I’m not!  In fact, I haven’t been writing.”

“Ooooo! Why?”

At that moment, I stopped and realized that there is not much that separates me from my students.  Here I am a person who knows the value of the art and wants my students to love to write as much as read, and I am not walking the walk.  I am just like them.  There is no one holding me accountable and I am taking full advantage of it.

Therefore, my next goal is to find a writing group.  Someone who I can share my writing with as well as grow with as a writer.  I need to learn, to grow, and to share my writing journey with my students.   Lesson learned from my sixth grader.

Leave a Reply

