Inviting them to the Feast

Day 22    #SOL17

 

After reading Fran McCrackin’s post on her page, pencilonmybackporch.com, I decided to share my blog with others.  Of course, it is in baby steps, but it is a step towards something.

I decided to share my struggles and writing with my students.

This is the annual week of pain (my descriptors), the Terra Nova’s.  I am monitoring some of my students who qualify for extra time.  This task is often accompanied with complaints about my role in doing so, but now I view it as stress relief as well as extra time.  The students are comfortable in my room and I try not to place too much pressure on them.  I explain the purpose of the test before they begin and offer Bath and Body Shop’s Eucalyptus Spearmint Stress Relief lotion.

Today, the students had to write an essay.  They groaned, which breaks my heart, but it is understandable.  I feel that writing is not developed or valued within the school.  The teachers are not comfortable teaching or writing with their students which is very common.  Also, some students have learning disabilities which makes writing even more of a stressor for them as opposed to a release.

After they finished the dreaded task, I decided to share my current writing experiences with them.  I explained the Slice of Life Challenge and opened the web page for them to view.  The posts were scanned, but I wanted to specifically share my post, “You”, which was a poem about my students.

With indifference, they began reading as I watched their faces.  They looked surprised and then glanced at each other.  In this poem, I mentioned how much I care about them and how much they inspire me.  Students believe that teachers care, but don’t often understand or believe how they inspire us.

After the students read the post, I have decided to share my writing with them daily.  As well as display the poem, You, within my reading room.  Sharing my work with them may help them with their struggle to express themselves.  Sharing my writing may invite them as Donald Murray says to the feast that writing is.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. mrssurridge says:

    I love your title! I agree that our students don’t see how THEY inspire us. Writing is a perfect way to let them know that, plus it exposes them you us as writers–which, at times, I grumble about also.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Being a teacher who writes really does change us and our students. They will love being a community of writers with you!

    Like

    1. Ms. Pesta says:

      When the group entered my room today, one boy came over to see what I wrote. He ended up giving me some topics to write about. So I entered them into my notebook and we will see. I may buy him a writer’s notebook since he has so many ideas.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. mrssurridge says:

        What a terrific idea!

        Like

Leave a Reply

