My Voice

 

Image result for slice of life

Mike returned from the war.  Returned as a survivor of a German prisoner of war camp.  He silently resurfaced in his home town knowing one thing: the steel mill was not for him.  Mike wanted to write, he had much to tell, so the local newspaper is where he lucked out to learn the craft.

 

A writer’s life suited him.  The hunting and pecking at a typewriter was music to his ears.  He loved the reporter’s life, but yearned to write a book.  He tried and tried but I believe it was too hard for him because the memories were too intense.  Mike could not talk about his experiences without tears.  Writing was a passion, but it didn’t allow my father to release the pain that clutched his heart.

 

One reason I am taking part in the Slice of Life challenge is to find my voice, so I can one day release my father’s pain.  Pain stopped him from writing and fear should not stop me.  My fear pales in comparison to his horrifying experiences.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Writing can serve so many purposes. I am glad you are finding your voice with writing. Maybe somehow you can tell some of your dad’s stories too.

    Like

  2. rosecappelli says:

    Glad you are participating, Chris. The encouragement you find in this community of writers will certainly help you find your voice and honor your father’s.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mrssurridge says:

    What a powerful slice. You captured your dad’s gift and his struggle in a few short paragraphs. Very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Amanda Regan says:

    Be brave! I have enjoyed what I have read so far. Keep on writing and sharing; you have stories to tell and voice worth hearing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

