Exploring Within

Have to admit that during the teaching day so many thoughts go in and out of my mind.  I am constantly questioning, wondering, and then hoping to remember.  I feel as if I need to keep my phone nearby to record my thoughts as they pop in my head because I am unable to stop to explore them deeply.

One thought that popped in is that teachers often will call students to pay attention.  If the students seem to be gazing into space, how do you know what they are thinking?  It seems that it is assumed that they are thinking about another topic, but what if they aren’t?  Or what if it something they need to get off their chest because it could affect their whole day?  What if a thought popped into their head that needs some time to digest in order to learn?  It could be an idea that is worth exploring, but is suddenly chased away by the call of a teacher.

We as teachers need to explore our thoughts and so too should our students.  I hope to explore my own thoughts more deeply and my students as well.  If I find them gazing off, I am going to ask them what they are thinking or have them write down their thoughts so they can continue for another time.  We all need to explore within.

Now, where is my phone?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. aileenhower says:

    Yay! You are slicing! I learn a lot about myself as a writer here, that allows me to have empathy and understanding for student writers. Now I can have empathy for them as thinkers as well. Welcome!!

    Like

  2. aileenhower says:

    Yay! You are slicing! I learn a lot about myself as a writer here, that allows me to have empathy and understanding for student writers. Now I can have empathy for them as thinkers as well. Welcome!

    Like

  3. mrssurridge says:

    This makes me think of me during a faculty meeting. I know that I often look like I’m not attending, when I am actually processing something that was said. Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

  4. I swear I become more and more scattered in my thoughts. It is true that noticing our own habits allows us to reflect on our students’ behaviors too. Keep noticing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

